What is SOSA's return policy on attars? This page does not state one, deliberately. SOSA's return and exchange policy has not been verified for this article, so writing a window or a condition here would be inventing a promise. More generally, a returns policy is a live document maintained by the people who have to honour it, while an article is a snapshot that nobody re-reads every morning. Read the policy on the live product page or the store policy page before you order, and ask for written confirmation if the answer matters to your decision.
How much should I rely on the product description when buying a gift? Read it, then discount it in a specific way. A description tells you what the composition is built around and roughly the order you meet it in. It carries no quantities, no grades, no complete material count and nothing about how the oil behaves on one particular person's skin. A note list is not a smell. On a surprise that gap is at its widest, which is the argument for buying the smallest size rather than for reading the description harder.
One: the price as it stands today. Every figure on this page was read on one day from the SOSA product pages, and prices move. Before you order, open the product page and read the number there. If it disagrees with anything written here, the product page is right and this page is out of date. That is true of any article about any shop, including ours, and it is worth building the habit because a gift is usually bought in a hurry and a hurry is where people trust a stale number.
Two: which size is actually in the cart. This is the mistake I would most expect you to make. A SOSA attar comes in three sizes and they are three different prices: 3ml, 6ml and 12ml. A listing with a size selector usually has one option selected by default, and a reader who has decided on a 3ml can quite easily add a 12ml to the cart without noticing, because the page looks the same either way. Check the selector, then check the cart, then check the order confirmation. For reference against the range as read on the day: a 3ml is ₹379 for Adaa, ₹385 for Ameeri, ₹389 for Mastani and ₹399 for Nawaab. If the number on your screen is in four figures you are not looking at a 3ml.
Three: what is in the box. A single bottle and a set of three are different items with different listings, and "the trio" means three bottles of three different compositions rather than three of the same. Read the listing and find out how many bottles are in it, which compositions they are, and what they arrive in. Do not assume a presentation box, a gift wrap, a card or a bag unless the listing says so - and if gift presentation matters for your occasion, that is a question to ask before you order rather than a hope to carry to the doorstep. The ordering-as-a-gift questions worth asking us directly are set out separately.
Four: the directions printed on the product. Read them yourself before you give the thing away, because the recipient will read them in front of you and you will be asked. An attar is dabbed from a built-in applicator at the pulse points rather than sprayed. It is alcohol-free, built on a DPG-free jojoba carrier, IFRA-compliant, and hand-blended in small batches in Pune. It runs 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin, and that is the only wear figure we publish for any of the four. If the recipient has only ever used sprays, the directions are the part of the gift they will actually need, and the single most useful thing you can say as you hand it over is to use less than feels natural the first time.
Five: the returns and exchange terms - and here is what I am not going to do. I have not verified SOSA's return or exchange policy, so this page does not state one. No window, no condition, no process, no exceptions. Not because it is a secret, but because a returns policy is exactly the kind of thing an article should never be the source for. A policy is a live document maintained by the people who have to honour it. An article is a snapshot taken on a Tuesday by somebody writing about fragrance. If I wrote a window into this paragraph and the policy changed next quarter, this page would quietly become a false promise that you relied on for a gift. So: read it on the live product page or the store policy page, before you order, and if what you find there matters to your decision, ask us to confirm it in writing. The page about price, sizes, directions and returns takes the same position and for the same reason.
Why a surprise makes all five of these worse. In an ordinary purchase you are the person who wanted the thing, so a wrong size or an unexpected box is an inconvenience. In a surprise, the person who wanted it has not been asked, cannot be consulted before it arrives, and may not feel able to say anything afterwards. Every variable you fail to check becomes a thing they have to be gracious about. That is the real argument for reading five short paragraphs on a product page: it is not about protecting your money, it is about not making somebody else manage your assumptions.
And the descriptions, which is the third word in your question. Read them, and then discount them in a specific way. A product description tells you what a composition is built around and roughly the order you meet it in. It carries no quantities, no grades, no complete material count and no information at all about how an oil will behave on one particular person's skin. A note list is not a smell. On a surprise that gap is at its widest, because the skin in question is not available to test on. The full version of that argument is here, and it is the honest foundation for everything else in this series.
So the one thing that genuinely de-risks a surprise. Buy small. A 3ml costs ₹379 to ₹399 depending on the composition and holds exactly the same liquid as a 12ml at ₹1,149 to ₹1,199. If the guess lands, the recipient buys the size they want and you were the one who found it. If it misses, almost nothing has happened - which is a far better outcome than relying on a returns policy neither of us has read together. Reducing the size of the mistake is something you control completely. A policy is something you only get to read.
The five checks, and which one is most often skipped
All five live on the product page. The second is the one people get wrong and the fifth is the one this article refuses to answer for you.
The sizes and the prices, as read on the day
Three sizes per composition, and they are three different prices. A 3ml is ₹379 for Adaa, ₹385 for Ameeri, ₹389 for Mastani and ₹399 for Nawaab. A 6ml runs ₹669 to ₹699 and a 12ml runs ₹1,149 to ₹1,199. The trio of three 3ml bottles is ₹1,055.
| Option | When it is the right call |
|---|---|
| Current price · read it on the product page |
Every figure in this article was read on one day · prices move Why it matters: gifts are bought in a hurry, and a hurry is where people trust a stale number |
| The size in the cart · 3ml, 6ml or 12ml |
Three bottles, three prices · a 3ml is ₹379 to ₹399 · selectors have defaults Why it matters: the most common and most expensive slip in the whole process |
| What is in the box · one bottle or three |
The trio is three different compositions · presentation is not assumable Why it matters: a surprise has an occasion attached, and occasions have expectations about wrapping |
| Returns and exchanges · read the live policy |
This article states no policy · no window, no condition, no process Why it matters: a policy is a live document and an article is a snapshot, so only one of the two can be relied on |
Confirm every one of those on the live page before you order, because this article is a snapshot and the product page is the record. All four compositions are alcohol-free, IFRA-compliant, built on a DPG-free jojoba carrier with a built-in dab applicator, hand-blended in small batches in Pune, and 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin. On returns and exchanges this page states nothing at all - read the live policy.
The SOSA attar range
Every SOSA attar is alcohol-free and IFRA-compliant on a jojoba carrier with no DPG, hand-blended in small batches in Pune. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali. There are four, and the honest way to read them is by depth - how much the base note is doing.
| Attar | Built on | What it is, honestly | 3ml |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adaa | Bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac, white musk | The lightest of the four and the easiest first attar. Jasmine sambac is mogra, so this is also the mogra answer | ₹379 |
| Ameeri | Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, Persian saffron, soft oudh | The warm one. Rose and sandalwood doing most of the work, with the oudh kept soft | ₹385 |
| Mastani | Night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose, oudh | The most floral. A different jasmine and a different rose from Adaa and Ameeri | ₹389 |
| Nawaab | White royal oud, sandalwood, saffron, tobacco leaf, amber, leather | The deepest in the range. Not a first attar unless you already know you like oud | ₹399 |
| The trio | Ameeri, Nawaab and Mastani together | Three of the four at once. The honest answer when you cannot choose and will not guess | ₹1,055 |
Four honest notes. A note list is not a smell. Every composition above is described in the words we would use ourselves, and those words still cannot tell you how it will sit on your skin - which is the whole reason the 3ml exists. On the sizes: 3ml, 6ml and 12ml are the same liquid, and the only reason to buy the larger ones is that you already know. If you have not worn it, buy the smallest and let it earn the upgrade. On wear: all four are 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin, and that is the only figure we publish. We do not publish a drop count, a per-application cost, or a comparison with how long anybody else's fragrance lasts - including sprays. On what we do not make: there is no standalone musk, sandalwood, amber, tuberose, vetiver, khus, aquatic or tobacco attar in this range. Four compositions is the whole range, and where your answer is not one of them, this page will say so rather than talk you into the nearest thing.
Versailles
Attars are the part of this business where the marketing is worst, and I would like ours to be the boring, accurate version. Most of the category sells a bottle on adjectives - royal, exotic, hypnotic, long-lasting - and on numbers nobody has measured. You cannot smell any of it before you pay, so the words are doing all the work, and almost nobody writes them honestly.
So here is what I will and will not tell you. I will tell you what is in each of the four, in the order you meet it, and that they wear 6-8 hours on my skin. I will not tell you that one of them smells expensive, or that it will turn heads, or that it lasts twelve hours, because I cannot know the first two about you and have not measured the third. The honest sequence is: read the notes, buy the 3ml, wear it for a week, and only then buy a size. If none of our four matches what you have described to yourself, I would rather say so than sell you the nearest one.
The other thing worth knowing is how little you need. An attar is concentrated oil, and the commonest mistake is wearing it like a spray - a long press at the neck and another at the wrists. One dab at a pulse point is the dose. Two if you want it read across a dinner table. Do not rub it in; oil opens with warmth, and rubbing crushes the top of it. That is the entire dial, and most people never need the top of it. A portion of every order supports girl-child education.
Frequently asked questions
- Adaa - bergamot, cardamom, jasmine sambac, white musk (3ml ₹379)
- Ameeri - Taif rose, sandalwood, saffron, soft oudh (3ml ₹385)
- Mastani - night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose, oudh (3ml ₹389)
- Nawaab - white royal oud, sandalwood, saffron, tobacco (3ml ₹399)
- The trio - three of the four together (from ₹1,055)
- Tell us what you wear now - we will say if none of the four fits
- Brand: Founder story — why SOSA exists
- Written by Sonal Sahani, ISIPCA Versailles-trained founder and perfumer at SOSA Home & Body. Product recommendations reflect the SOSA range; the fragrance-family guidance applies to any brand. SOSA does not sort fragrance by the gender of the wearer.
What this guide does not claim.
- An attar is a fragrance and nothing else.
- - it names what a composition is built from and the order you meet it in, which is a description of an intention rather than a measurement, and it is
- . Nothing here should be read as advice about health, allergies or anyone's wellbeing, and no fragrance on this page is claimed to affect anybody's mood, comfort, confidence or state of mind. Where a reader describes a preference none of our four compositions matches, these guides say so and sell nothing.
SOSA attars, specified:
- four compositions -
- (bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac, white musk),
- (Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, Persian saffron, soft oudh),
- (night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose, oudh) and
- (white royal oud, sandalwood, saffron, black pepper, cardamom, aged tobacco leaf, amber, leather, white musk). All four are
- , supplied with a built-in dab applicator, and hand-blended in small batches in Pune. Sizes are
- : Adaa ₹379 / ₹669 / ₹1,149, Ameeri ₹385 / ₹679 / ₹1,165, Mastani ₹389 / ₹685 / ₹1,179, Nawaab ₹399 / ₹699 / ₹1,199. The three-attar trio (Ameeri, Nawaab, Mastani) is ₹1,055 / ₹1,859 / ₹3,189. The same liquid fills all three sizes.
On wear.
- SOSA publishes one figure:
- . SOSA does not publish a drop count, a cost per application, a projection rating, or any comparison with how long another format or another company's fragrance lasts. Where a customer review reports a different number, that is one person's experience of their own skin and not a measurement SOSA stands behind.
On what is in the bottle.
- The composition lists above name the materials a fragrance is built from. They are not a statement of grade, percentage or geographic origin, and this guide makes no claim about either. Where origin or grade matters to you, ask before you buy - that is a fair question and the answer belongs to the product page rather than to an article.
On other companies.
- Where another fragrance brand is named in these guides it is because a reader named it, and the page answers what they asked. Nothing here states what any other company's product contains, how long it lasts, what it costs or how it performs.
- , and no other company has reviewed or approved this content. If a product you already own suits you, keep it - several pages in this guide say exactly that.
On availability.
- SOSA is an online fragrance house and ships across India; it holds no retail counters, and no delivery window is quoted here. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali. Prices and availability change - see the live product pages.