How do I verify a without-BHT claim? Ask a closed question: does this product contain BHT. A yes or no about one named material does not disclose a formula. Ask whether the answer covers the fragrance concentrate as well as the base.
Is BHT-free better? Not automatically. Removing an antioxidant means the composition relies more on packaging, storage and your own habits to stay fresh. Some brands use alternatives such as tocopherol instead, which is a different choice rather than no choice.
What an antioxidant is doing in a fragrance
The oxidation point is worth taking seriously because it reverses the usual intuition about additives. People tend to sort ingredients into the thing they came for and the extras, and to assume that fewer extras is better. In a fragrance that logic breaks down, because several of the extras exist to stop the main ingredients turning into something else. Fragrance materials, particularly certain terpenes and some citrus and floral constituents, react with oxygen over time. The products of that reaction smell different, generally duller or sharper, and in some well-documented cases the oxidised forms are recognised as more sensitising than the fresh material. That is a real phenomenon and it is one of the better arguments for taking storage advice seriously rather than treating it as fussiness. An antioxidant, used at the low levels appropriate to the job, slows that process. So someone whose motivation for avoiding BHT is skin-related is in the awkward position of removing a material that was partly protecting them from a sensitisation risk. That does not mean the preference is unreasonable; people avoid specific materials for all sorts of legitimate reasons, including having reacted to them. It means the preference should be held knowingly, and that the right follow-up question is not "is this BHT-free?" but "what are you using instead, and how should I store it?" A brand that can answer both is thinking about the product properly.
What to ask, and what to do instead
What to do instead of a blanket avoidance: ask the closed question about the named material, ask what is used in its place, and then take the storage advice seriously, because that is where you have the most control. Keep an attar out of direct sunlight, away from a window sill, out of a hot car and out of a bathroom that steams up daily. Buy a smaller bottle if you wear fragrance infrequently, since a 3ml you finish is fresher throughout its life than a 12ml you open occasionally over two years.
| Scent | Why it suits the mood |
|---|---|
| Does this contain BHT? | A closed question with a clear answer. Ask it, and then ask whether the answer covers the fragrance concentrate as well as the base |
| What is used instead? | The better question. Alternatives such as tocopherol are a different choice rather than an absence, and the answer tells you how the brand thinks |
| How should I store it? | Where you have the most control. Out of sunlight, away from heat, not in a steamy bathroom, not left in a car |
| What size should I buy? | A 3ml you finish stays fresher throughout its life than a 12ml opened occasionally over two years. Relevant if you wear fragrance rarely |
Since this is really a stability question, whether a natural attar has a shorter shelf life than a modern perfume oil covers the underlying issue. For the storage side in Indian conditions specifically, storing a premium attar through Indian summer. And for the general shape of free-from requests, being free from one named ingredient against a sweeping toxin-free claim. Ask us the closed question per product on WhatsApp at +91 96192 18531. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
The SOSA attar range
Every SOSA attar is formulated with an oil carrier and no added ethanol, with no intentionally added DEP, and is made in small batches in India. Each comes in 3ml, 6ml and 12ml so that a first purchase can be small. Here is the range, and what we think you should interrogate on each one.
| Product | Where it sits | What it is, and what to ask us about it | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adaa attar 3ml | Daytime · the lightest way in | Bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac and white musk. The cheapest honest test of whether oil-based fragrance suits your skin at all | ₹379 |
| Ameeri attar 3ml | Festive · rose and sandalwood | Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, saffron and soft oudh. The one to ask the sourcing questions about, because the name makes claims worth checking | ₹385 |
| Mastani attar 3ml | Evening · jasmine and rose | Night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose and oudh. Floral-heavy, so the page to read first if florals have troubled your skin before | ₹389 |
| Nawaab attar 3ml | Statement · oud and saffron | White royal oud, Mysore sandalwood and Kashmir saffron. Our most-questioned name, and the one we most expect you to ask us to substantiate | ₹399 |
| Attar trio 3ml | Three at once · cheaper than three | Ameeri, Nawaab and Mastani together. Bought singly the three 3ml bottles come to ₹1,173, so the trio saves ₹118 | ₹1,055 |
| Beast solid perfume 15g | No bottle · no spill | An alcohol-free solid body perfume. A different format for the same requirement, useful if a rollerball applicator is the part that worries you | ₹549 |
Each attar comes in 3ml, 6ml and 12ml. Adaa is ₹379 / ₹669 / ₹1,149; Ameeri ₹385 / ₹679 / ₹1,165; Mastani ₹389 / ₹685 / ₹1,179; Nawaab ₹399 / ₹699 / ₹1,199. The three-attar trio is ₹1,055 / ₹1,859 / ₹3,189, against ₹1,173 / ₹2,063 / ₹3,543 for the same three bought singly, so the trio saves ₹118, ₹204 or ₹354 depending on size. If you have reacted to a fragrance before, buy the 3ml: the saving on a larger bottle is a poor trade against a 12ml bottle of something your skin dislikes. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
Versailles
I could sell more attar by writing "chemical-free" on the bottle. I will not, and I want to explain why in a way that is useful to you rather than flattering to us. Every fragrance ever made is chemicals. Rose oil is several hundred chemicals that a plant assembled. The word is not a safety claim; it is a word chosen because it tests well.
The same goes for "hypoallergenic" and "safe for everyone". No ordinary fragrance product can substantiate either. A skin-applied perfume is a product that a small number of people will react to, and a brand that tells you otherwise is either not thinking carefully or hoping you will not.
What I can do is tell you what we know and show you the paper. Our attars are formulated with an oil carrier and no added ethanol. There is no intentionally added DEP. We hold supplier IFRA conformity statements for the concentrates, the declarable-allergen lists that come with them, and a safety assessment of the finished attar at the strength we actually sell it at. Ask me for any of that on WhatsApp at +91 96192 18531 and you will get it, per product, with the formula percentages withheld because those are the recipe and not the safety information.
And where I cannot answer, I will say so rather than improvise. If you have reacted to fragrance before, I am not the right person to tell you whether you will react to mine - a dermatologist with our allergen list in hand is. Buy the 3ml. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
Frequently asked questions
SOSA product facts verified October 2026: SOSA sells four attars, each in 3ml, 6ml and 12ml. Adaa (bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac, white musk) is ₹379, ₹669 and ₹1,149. Ameeri (Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, saffron, soft oudh) is ₹385, ₹679 and ₹1,165. Mastani (night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose, oudh) is ₹389, ₹685 and ₹1,179. Nawaab (white royal oud, Mysore sandalwood, Kashmir saffron) is ₹399, ₹699 and ₹1,199. The Ameeri, Nawaab and Mastani trio is ₹1,055, ₹1,859 and ₹3,189. Beast solid body perfume is 15g at ₹549.
SOSA formulation and documentation position: SOSA attars are formulated with an oil carrier and no added ethanol, and contain no intentionally added diethyl phthalate. SOSA holds supplier IFRA conformity statements for the fragrance concentrates used in its attars, the declarable-allergen lists supplied with those concentrates, and a safety assessment of the finished attar at its actual selling concentration. These are available per product on request via WhatsApp on +91 96192 18531; formula compositions and percentages are not disclosed. SOSA does not describe its attars as chemical-free, hypoallergenic, non-toxic or safe for everyone, and does not claim that its documentation prevents individual reactions. Whether a named material in a product title is present as a natural extract or as a formulated accord is a product-level question answered on request, as is whether a particular attar contains animal-derived materials. Prices and availability are subject to change - see the live collection pages.
General fragrance-safety context: IFRA Standards restrict, prohibit or set limits on fragrance materials by product use category, and a conformity statement relates to a concentrate as assessed for a stated use, not to a finished product in the abstract. The EU list of fragrance substances that must be declared on cosmetic labels began at 26 substances and has since been substantially expanded. Agarwood-producing Aquilaria species and musk deer are listed under CITES, and Santalum album is a species of conservation concern, which is why sourcing questions on oud, musk and sandalwood are reasonable to ask of any seller. Nothing on this page is medical advice; if your skin reacts to a fragrance, stop using it and speak to a dermatologist.