Should Adjustable Intensity Be a Main Requirement When You Choose a Car Diffuser?
· What Rs 3,999 buys is control, not a better smellSOSA car perfumes ₹449 to ₹549 · spray or hanging at the same price · 10ml is 100 sprays, 50ml is 500 · the hanging runs 4 to 6 weeksAlcohol-free · phthalate-free · made in India · a portion funds girl-child education
SOSA Home & Body
Three SOSA formats put fragrance in a cabin. What separates them is who decides how much, and when - you pressing a spray, a stopper set once, or three speeds and a timer
Situations this guide covers
Situation
Worked out that six short trips a day meant pressing a spray six times, and that was the whole reason to want a dial instead.
Relevant to: Safar, three speeds and a timer
Situation
Drives twice a week, enjoys the ritual of spraying, and was told plainly that Safar would be more device than the routine needs.
Relevant to: 10ml car perfume spray
Situation
Wanted the cabin right for clients without touching anything, and the timer turned out to be the feature that mattered.
Relevant to: Safar, 1/2/3-hour auto shut-off
Situation
Already had a hanging set exactly where it was wanted, and the honest answer was that there was nothing to upgrade from.
Relevant to: 12ml hanging car perfume
Situation
Shared car, two drivers who wanted different intensities, and a stopper that had to be reset every time was the actual problem.
Relevant to: Safar, light to intense
Situation
Asked whether an electric car needs a different diffuser and learned it does not - the nine-hour parking and the ninety-minute commute are what change the answer.
Relevant to: Safar against spray and hanging
Situation
Worked out that six short trips a day meant pressing a spray six times, and that was the whole reason to want a dial instead.
Relevant to: Safar, three speeds and a timer
Situation
Drives twice a week, enjoys the ritual of spraying, and was told plainly that Safar would be more device than the routine needs.
Relevant to: 10ml car perfume spray
Situation
Wanted the cabin right for clients without touching anything, and the timer turned out to be the feature that mattered.
Relevant to: Safar, 1/2/3-hour auto shut-off
Situation
Already had a hanging set exactly where it was wanted, and the honest answer was that there was nothing to upgrade from.
Relevant to: 12ml hanging car perfume
Situation
Shared car, two drivers who wanted different intensities, and a stopper that had to be reset every time was the actual problem.
Relevant to: Safar, light to intense
Situation
Asked whether an electric car needs a different diffuser and learned it does not - the nine-hour parking and the ninety-minute commute are what change the answer.
✓ A 10ml spray holds 100 sprays - three months at one a day, fifty days at two✓ The hanging runs 4 to 6 weeks and the stopper adjusts it✓ Mats, boot carpet and the air-conditioning before a stronger perfume✓ Tell SOSA how your car is parked and driven on WhatsApp +91 96192 18531
Founder Diaries · SOSA Safar & Choosing a Car Fragrance Format
By Sonal Sahani · ISIPCA Versailles12 min readUpdated September 2026
This one deserves a straight answer rather than a balanced one, so here it is: if adjustable intensity ranks anywhere on your list, it ranks first - because it is the feature the entire purchase turns on. Safar is ₹3,999 and a SOSA bottle is ₹449 to ₹549, and almost the whole of that gap is 3 speed settings and a 1/2/3-hour auto shut-off timer. The oil is the same kind of oil. The scent is not better. You are buying a dial, so the dial is the requirement. The harder half of the answer is the one a sales page will not give you: for a sizeable group of buyers, adjustable intensity should not be on the list at all, and this page names them. There is also a quieter point that catches people out - the ₹449 hanging already has a published strength control, so adjustability is not the thing that separates the formats. How often you want to change it is.
Start with the question that actually decides this, because it is not about scent. All three SOSA car formats put fragrance into a cabin; what separates them is who sets the level. The 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549 is you, every time, from 100 sprays in the bottle. The 12ml hanging at the same price is a stopper, set once, running 4 to 6 weeks. Safar at ₹3,999 is three speeds and a 1/2/3-hour auto shut-off timer, cordless on a 2000 mAh battery for up to 10 hours continuous or 30 hours intermittent per charge. If you would not use a dial, the ₹449 product is the right buy and the money is better unspent.
Quick answers — read this first
Should adjustable intensity be the top requirement? If it belongs on the list, yes, put it at the top - it is what the price difference consists of. Safar at ₹3,999 gives you 3 speed settings, light to intense, changed on the device, plus a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off timer. A bottle at ₹449 to ₹549 gives you 100 sprays you decide one at a time, or a stopper you set once. Rank it first or leave it off; ranking it third is how a buyer pays for it without using it.
Does the cheaper hanging have any intensity control? Yes, and this surprises people. The 12ml hanging's stopper is its published strength control - loosen it for stronger, tighten it for subtler, with published advice to start tighter and open it gradually. It stays where you set it for the 4 to 6 weeks the bottle runs. So adjustability as such costs ₹449. What costs ₹3,999 is adjustability you can change on the spot, repeatedly, without reaching for the glass.
Who should not make adjustable intensity a requirement? Anybody whose driving is one shape. Same route, same person, same windows, same hours means one correct setting, and a setting you reach once is a stopper rather than a dial. Also anybody who wants this to be a thing they never think about again - that is the hanging, set once and left for 4 to 6 weeks. And anybody whose actual complaint is a smell in the cabin, because a fragrance adds a scent and does not remove one, so a higher setting is the wrong tool.
The short answer
Short answer: If adjustable intensity belongs on your list at all, rank it first, because 3 speed settings and a 1/2/3-hour timer are most of what Rs 3,999 buys over a Rs 449 bottle. Rank it nowhere if your driving is one shape, or if you want to set a level once and forget it, because the 12ml hanging's stopper is already a published strength control at Rs 449 to Rs 549.
The pick:Safar at ₹3,999 if you can name two occasions in the last month when you would have changed the level. Otherwise the 12ml hanging at ₹449 to ₹549, whose stopper adjusts strength once and then stays put.
Why: Adjustability is not what separates the formats - the hanging adjusts too. What separates them is how often you want to change it, and that is a fact about your week rather than about the products.
There is a real question underneath every version of this one, and it is not which product smells better. It is who you want deciding how strong the cabin is. A 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549 puts that in your hand, press by press, and holds 100 sprays. A 12ml hanging at the same price hands it to a stopper you set once, then runs 4 to 6 weeks. Safar at ₹3,999 gives you three speeds and a 1/2/3-hour timer on a cordless 2000 mAh battery, up to 10 hours continuous per charge. That is the difference you are paying nine times the price for - a dial, not a better fragrance. Which means the first honest question is whether you would ever turn the dial.
Every diffuser listing I read for my Tata Tiago EV makes a point of adjustable intensity. Should that be a main requirement, or am I being sold a feature I will not use?
Rank it first or leave it off the list entirely. Both are defensible; ranking it third is not. Start with why it is first when it is on the list. Safar is ₹3,999, or ₹4,499 for the hotel-inspired sets. A 10ml SOSA spray is ₹449 to ₹549 and a 12ml hanging is the same price for the same scent. The published difference between them is almost entirely control: Safar carries 3 speed settings from light to intense and a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off timer, on a 2000 mAh Type-C battery giving up to 10 hours continuous or 30 hours intermittent per charge, in a 6.9 cm body with a 20 ml bottle and three fragrance oils included by variant. It is waterless cold diffusion with no heating element, and it is aroma only, so it does not humidify. Nothing in that list makes the fragrance better than the fragrance in a bottle. So the dial is the purchase, and a requirement list that puts it below ease of use or looks has got the order wrong. Now the half that matters more. The ₹449 hanging already adjusts. Its stopper is a published strength control - loosen for stronger, tighten for subtler, and the published advice is to start tighter and open gradually. It holds that setting through the 4 to 6 weeks the bottle runs. So the question is not whether you want adjustability. It is how often you want to adjust. Once a month is a stopper. Twice a day, or mid-journey, or because the other driver wants it softer than you do, is a dial. And there are readers for whom it is neither: one route, one person, one setting, in which case the hanging does the entire job and the money is better unspent. One last thing, because it sends people up the speed range for the wrong reason: if the cabin smells of something underneath, a fragrance adds a scent and does not remove one. Air the car out, check the mats and the boot carpet, and deal with the source - turning the intensity up is the wrong instrument for that job. SOSA publishes no fitment, cup-holder dimension, testing or compatibility claim for any car model, so none of this is derived from what you drive. A portion of every SOSA order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
First on the list, or nowhere on it. And remember the ₹449 hanging's stopper already adjusts - the question is how often.
The quick version: a 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549 when you want to decide journey by journey - it holds 100 sprays, which is three months and above at one a day. The 12ml hanging is the same price and runs 4 to 6 weeks on its own, with the stopper to adjust it. The 50ml at ₹1,499 is 500 sprays, once you know your rate.
Why it ranks first when it ranks at all, and the test that decides whether it does
Three things settle this, and the middle one is a test you can run in about a minute using nothing but the last four weeks of your own driving.
01
Why it ranks first
The device is the dial, so the dial is the decision
Strip the two products down to what is published and the gap is almost entirely control. A 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549 is 100 sprays and your own judgement, press by press. Safar at ₹3,999 is 3 speeds and a 1/2/3-hour timer. Same category of oil, same cabin, same closed volume of air; what changes is who decides the level and how easily. That is why adjustable intensity cannot sit in the middle of a requirement list - it is not one feature among six, it is the thing being sold. If you rank it third behind ease of use and appearance, you will end up paying ₹3,550 for third place. And a related trap worth naming now: adjustability is not a grade of quality. A device with three settings does not contain better oil than a bottle with none. It contains the same kind of oil and a way to change how much of it reaches the cabin.
Tip: Nine times the price, and the dial is nearly all of it. Rank it accordingly.
02
The one-minute test
Name two occasions in the last month when you would have moved it
This is the test, and it is worth doing honestly because it is the whole decision. Think back over four weeks of real driving and find two specific moments when you would have changed the level. Not two moments when you noticed the fragrance - two moments when you would have reached for a control. A passenger who looked uncomfortable. A long drive where it felt like too much after the first hour. A morning when the car had been shut all night and you wanted less, or a cold evening with the windows up when you wanted more. Somebody else driving who likes it subtler than you do. Two concrete occasions means the dial is a requirement and Safar earns the money. One vague occasion means you are describing a preference rather than a need, and a stopper covers a preference. Zero occasions is a clear answer, and the clear answer is a ₹449 to ₹549 bottle. The reason this test works is that it uses evidence you already have instead of a specification you cannot verify - and no published figure can stand in for it, since SOSA publishes no coverage area, scent-throw or projection number for any format.
03
Who should rank it nowhere
Three readers for whom adjustable intensity is the wrong requirement
First, the one-shape driver. Same route, same hours, same person, windows usually in the same position: there is one correct level, you will find it in a week, and a control you reach once is a stopper, not a dial. The 12ml hanging at ₹449 to ₹549 is built for exactly that, runs 4 to 6 weeks, and its published advice - start tighter, open gradually - is a one-week calibration rather than an ongoing habit. Second, the set-and-forget buyer. If the appeal of any of this is never thinking about it again, a feature that invites fiddling is a cost rather than a benefit, and a battery to keep charged is one more thing to remember. Third, the buyer whose real problem is a smell. If the cabin smells of damp carpet or last week's food, intensity is the wrong instrument - a fragrance adds a scent and does not remove one. Ventilate it, dry it out, check under the mats and in the boot, and only then decide what to add. In all three cases the cheaper format is the right purchase rather than a compromise.
Tip: One shape of driving means one setting. One setting means a stopper, and a stopper is ₹449.
What is published, and what is not
Safar’s whole spec sheet, in one place
Everything SOSA publishes about the device, and it is worth having in front of you before spending ₹3,999: a 20ml bottle; a 2000 mAh rechargeable battery charged over Type-C, cable in the box; up to 10 hours continuous or up to 30 hours intermittent diffusion per charge; 3 speed settings from light to intense; a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off timer; approximately 6.9 cm, which is cup-holder and handbag sized. It cold-diffuses pure oil with no water and no heating element, and it is aroma only - it does not humidify. Three fragrance oils come with it, set by the variant you choose. And here is what is not published, because it matters as much: no charge duration, no coverage area or room size, no warranty term, no battery-cycle life, and no oil-consumption rate at all. So the refill price is known - ₹1,049 per 100 gm - and how often you will need one is not something anybody can honestly tell you. The hour figures are the battery, not the oil.
Put it first or strike it out. Nothing useful happens when it ranks third.
Run the test: two real occasions last month when you would have moved it.
Remember the Rs 449 hanging adjusts too. Ask how often, not whether.
If the cabin smells of something, fix that first. Intensity is not the tool.
The SOSA principle
Adjustable intensity is not one requirement among several. On this decision it is the requirement - which is exactly why it has to be first on the list or absent from it.
And the test is not whether you like the idea of a dial. It is whether you can name two occasions in the last month when you would have moved one.
Intensity and scent are two dials, and only one of them is on the device
Keep two dials apart while you are ranking requirements, because conflating them is how people buy the wrong thing. Intensity is how much.Scent is which. Only the first is on the device. Across the car range the softer end is Jasmine at ₹449 and Lavender and Sandalwood at ₹479; the bright end is Icy Mint at ₹489, Lemon at ₹499 and Sea Breeze at ₹509; the deep end is Sandalwood at ₹479, Vetiver at ₹509 and Oud at ₹509, with Mysore Orange Blossom at ₹549 sold as a spray only. If what you actually want is less fragrance rather than adjustable fragrance, choosing from the softer end of the range costs nothing extra and needs no device. Safar's own three oils come with it, set by the variant, and the Discovery Set at ₹699 to ₹899 is the cheap way to find out which end you belong to before any dial is involved.
The side-by-side
Four ways to control intensity, and who each one is wrong for
The option
Who it suits, and where it fails
You, with a 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549
The most adjustable control of the three, if you count effort as adjustment: 100 sprays, and you decide the dose every single time. It fails for a driver making several journeys a day who does not want to press anything six times, and it fails when you are not in the car to press it.
A stopper, with a 12ml hanging at the same price
A published strength control - loosen for stronger, tighten for subtler, start tighter and open gradually - held for 4 to 6 weeks. It fails when the level needs to change during a journey, and it fails for two drivers who want two different settings on the same day.
Three speeds, with Safar at ₹3,999
Changed on the device, mid-journey, repeatedly, wasting nothing, with a 1/2/3-hour timer on top. It fails on value for anybody whose honest answer to the one-minute test is zero, and it fails as a response to a cabin that smells of something, since it adds a scent rather than removing one.
Ranking adjustability first and then never touching it
The trap. A main requirement you do not exercise is the most expensive kind of requirement, because it is the one that chose the product. If the speed will be set on day one and left there, that setting cost ₹3,550 more than a stopper would have.
The comparison that settles it
Nine times the price buys a dial, not a better scent
Set the three SOSA formats side by side on the only axis that separates them. The 10ml spray is ₹449 to ₹549 and holds 100 sprays - three months and above at one a day, fifty days at two - and it does nothing until you press it. The 12ml hanging is the same price for the same scent, runs 4 to 6 weeks of continuous diffusion in refillable glass, and its stopper is the strength control, loosened for more or tightened for less. Safar is ₹3,999 and gives you three speeds and a 1/2/3-hour timer. That is roughly nine sprays’ worth of money, and what it adds is the ability to change your mind halfway through a journey without wasting anything. For somebody making six short trips a day, or sharing a car with another driver who wants it softer, that is worth real money. For somebody who drives twice a week and rather likes pressing a spray, it is a dial that will sit on one setting forever - and then ₹449 was the correct answer all along.
Two things that sit next to intensity on most lists and should be weighed separately. The timer is not a strength control - a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off decides when the run ends, not how much there is while it runs, and buyers who want less fragrance sometimes buy the timer when they wanted the lowest speed. And running cost is published unevenly across the three formats: the hanging has 15ml refills at ₹399 to ₹449 and a published 4 to 6 weeks per bottle; the spray has no refill at all and 100 sprays to tell you where you are; Safar's refill is priced at ₹1,049 per 100 gm or ₹1,849 per 300 gm while no consumption rate is published, so the price is known and the interval is not. Note also that Safar is imported from China and marketed by SOSA in Pune, while the car perfume range is made in India.
₹449 to ₹549, published at 100 sprays. Fragrance you decide to have, journey by journey - which is the format that suits a car occupied an hour or two a day.
The same price as the spray, published at 4 to 6 weeks in a refillable glass bottle. The stopper adjusts it - loosen for stronger, tighten for subtler - which is the only strength control SOSA publishes.
Three sprays from ₹699, or all nine at ₹2,999. Nine published combinations and those nine are the whole range - you pick from them, you do not assemble one.
from ₹699
What Rs 3,999 actually buys
Control and automation. Not a better smell.
This is the sentence that decides whether Safar is worth it for you, and it is worth being blunt about. All three SOSA car formats put fragrance into a cabin. What separates them is who decides how much, and when. The 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549 is decided by you, press by press - 100 sprays in the bottle, three months and more at one a day. The 12ml hanging at the same price is decided once, by a stopper you loosen or tighten, and then runs 4 to 6 weeks on its own. Safar at ₹3,999 is the only one you can turn down mid-journey without throwing anything away: three speed settings and a 1/2/3-hour auto shut-off timer, running cordless on a 2000 mAh battery for up to 10 hours continuous or 30 hours intermittent per charge, charged over Type-C. That is the whole difference, and it is a difference in control rather than in quality. So the honest test is not whether Safar is the better product - it is whether you actually want a dial. If you are happy pressing a spray, or happy setting a stopper once and forgetting it, the ₹449 product is not the lesser choice. It is the right one, and nine times out of ten the money is better left unspent.
Tell SOSA how many hours a day somebody is actually sitting in the car, where it is parked and for how long, whether the windows are usually open or shut, and who else drives it - and you will be told which format and how much, including the times the honest answer is the hanging at the same price because you would rather not think about it.
A main requirement is one you will exercise. Adjustable intensity exercised twice a day is worth nine times a bottle; adjustable intensity set once on day one is a stopper that cost Rs 3,550 extra.
— Sonal Sahani, SOSA
The SOSA car fragrance range
Two questions settle almost every car fragrance decision. First: is the cabin smelling of nothing in particular, or is it smelling of something? If it is smelling of something, that is the question to answer first, because a perfume adds a scent and does not remove one - and the mats, the boot carpet and the air-conditioning come before any bottle. Second, once the cabin is neutral: how many hours a day is somebody actually sitting in it? A 25 km commute is about an hour; a field job can be four. That number decides how much of what you buy is experienced by anybody at all, because the rest of the day is a sealed cabin in a parking bay. Then: do you want fragrance you switch on, or fragrance that simply runs? The 10ml spray holds 100 sprays and does nothing until you press it; the 12ml hanging runs 4 to 6 weeks whether anybody is there or not, and its stopper loosens for stronger or tightens for subtler. They cost the same for the same scent, so price does not decide it - which is unusual, and useful.
The SOSA car range, sorted by how much it asks of you day to day
Start from how the car is used, not from what the product costs
₹449 to ₹549 across nine scents. Published at 100 sprays - 3 months and above at one a day, 50 days at two. No battery, nothing to charge, nothing to set. It does nothing at all until you press it, which for a lot of people is exactly the point
The same price as the spray, scent for scent. Published at 4 to 6 weeks of continuous diffusion in refillable glass. The stopper is the control - loosen for stronger, tighten for subtler, and published advice is to start tighter and open gradually. Set it and it runs
₹3,999, or ₹4,499 for the hotel-inspired sets. Cold-diffuses pure oil, no water and no heating element. 3 speed settings and a 1/2/3-hour auto shut-off timer, cordless on a 2000 mAh battery for up to 10 hours continuous or 30 hours intermittent per charge, Type-C. Approx 6.9 cm, cup-holder sized. Aroma only - it does not humidify. Three oils come with it, set by the variant
₹1,049 per 100 gm, ₹1,849 per 300 gm - the published refill for Safar and Vaayu, in Vetiver, Neelakurinji, Malabar Lemon, Sage & Cedar, Mahogany and Japanese Cherry Blossom. The price is published; how long one lasts is not, because SOSA publishes no consumption rate at all
₹899 for Jasmine & Lemon or Jasmine & Lavender; ₹949 for Oud + Lemon or Sandalwood & Oud. Spray combo (2 x 10ml) or hanging combo (2 x 12ml) at the same price, and each also as 50ml x 2 at ₹2,999. Four published pairs
₹699 to ₹899 for three sprays, or ₹2,999 for all nine. Eight published trios plus the pack of nine, and that is the whole range - none is composed to order. The sensible way to find a scent before committing to any device
₹399 to ₹449 across eight scents. There is no spray refill, and Orange Blossom has no refill at all
from ₹399
Read the table as a ladder of control, not a ladder of quality. A 10ml spray is 100 sprays and is decided by you every time; a 12ml hanging runs 4 to 6 weeks and is decided once by its stopper; Safar at ₹3,999 has 3 speeds and a 1/2/3-hour timer and can be turned down mid-journey. Spray and hanging are the same price scent for scent, so between those two the choice is purely about how you want to use the car. Safar is a different kind of purchase: it costs roughly nine times a spray and what it adds is a dial and an off-switch on a schedule, running cordless on a 2000 mAh battery for up to 10 hours continuous or 30 hours intermittent per charge. It is aroma only and does not humidify. Its published refill is ₹1,049 per 100 gm; the interval between refills is not published and cannot honestly be estimated. Safar is imported from China and marketed by SOSA in Pune; the car perfume range is made in India. Fragrance adds a scent to a cabin; it does not remove, neutralise, mask or purify an odour - so a car that has developed a smell is a question about the car at any price point. Prices above are published retail prices; bulk orders are welcome and custom label or logo on product is available, with quantities settled on WhatsApp at +91 96192 18531. SOSA is an Indian fragrance house based in Pune, sending orders across India. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
The honest spec sheet
What SOSA publishes about Safar, and what it does not
Everything below is on the live product record. Anything not on this list is not something a page like this should state.
The published spec, in full - a 20ml bottle; a 2000 mAh rechargeable lithium battery on Type-C charging with the cable included; up to 10 hours continuous or up to 30 hours intermittent diffusion per charge; 3 speed settings from light to intense; a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off timer; approximately 6.9 cm. The box holds the diffuser, the bottle, the cable and a manual, and the variant you choose sets the three fragrance oils supplied with it.
Running cost - the published refill is the Waterless Nebuliser Refill at ₹1,049 per 100 gm or ₹1,849 per 300 gm, in Vetiver, Neelakurinji, Malabar Lemon, Sage & Cedar, Mahogany and Japanese Cherry Blossom.
The two formats it is being compared against - a 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549, published at 100 sprays, three months and above at one a day; and a 12ml hanging at the same price, published at 4 to 6 weeks, whose stopper is its strength control. Both have no battery and nothing to charge.
Placement - published guidance is to keep Safar in a cup-holder or door pocket and not to leave it in direct sun on a closed dashboard. Cold diffusion means cabin heat does not cook the oil.
Origin - country of origin China, imported and marketed by SOSA Home & Body, Pune. The SOSA car perfume range is made in India; Safar is not, and that is worth stating plainly rather than blurring.
Not published, and therefore never stated here: any charge duration; any coverage area, room size, scent-throw or projection figure; any warranty term; any battery-cycle life; any oil-consumption rate - the 10-hour and 30-hour figures are the battery, not the oil, so the refill price is published and the interval is not; any fitment, cup-holder dimension, testing or compatibility claim for any car model, in either direction; any difference between a petrol, diesel or electric car; and any health effect in either direction. Those go to WhatsApp +91 96192 18531.
Not sure whether ₹3,999 is the right spend or nine times too much? That is the only question worth asking here, and it takes one message. Tell SOSA on WhatsApp at +91 96192 18531 four things: how many separate journeys you make in a day, how long each one lasts, whether anybody else drives the car, and whether you would actually change the setting if you had one. You will get a straight answer rather than a catalogue - including the times the answer is "the ₹449 spray does everything you have described, keep your money."What is not on this page, because SOSA does not publish it: any charge duration for Safar; any coverage area, room size or scent-throw figure; any warranty term; any battery-cycle life; any oil-consumption rate, so the refill price is published and the refill interval is not; and anything whatsoever about any car model - no fitment, no cup-holder dimension, no testing. What is: a 20ml bottle, a 2000 mAh Type-C battery, up to 10 hours continuous or 30 hours intermittent per charge, 3 speeds, a 1/2/3-hour auto shut-off timer, approximately 6.9 cm, three oils set by the variant, and ₹1,049 per 100 gm to refill. It is aroma only and does not humidify, it is imported from China and marketed by SOSA in Pune, and the published advice is to keep it in a cup-holder or door pocket rather than in direct sun on a closed dashboard. On presentation: custom label or logo on product is the one branding option. Where SOSA is: an Indian fragrance house based in Pune, sending orders across India, with no shop, stockist, counter or warehouse in any other city.
SS
ISIPCA Versailles
A note from Sonal
I will tell you the thing a brand is not supposed to say about its own most expensive car product. Safar does not smell better than our ₹449 spray. It is the same kind of fragrance oil going into the same kind of closed cabin. What ₹3,999 buys you is three speeds and a timer - the ability to turn it down when your mother-in-law gets in, and to have it shut itself off after an hour because you forgot about it. That is a real thing to want. It is not a better scent.
So when somebody messages asking whether to buy it, I ask two questions. How many separate journeys do you make in a day, and does anybody else drive the car? Six short trips means pressing a spray six times, and a dial starts to look sensible. Two people who want different intensities means a stopper being reset twice a day, and a dial looks even better. But if you drive twice a week and you quite like the small ritual of spraying before you set off, I would rather you kept your money. We sell a ₹449 product that does that job completely.
The other thing I want to be straight about: the hour figures on Safar are the battery, not the oil. Ten hours continuous, thirty intermittent, per charge. How long the oil itself lasts depends on which of the three speeds you use and how many hours it actually runs, and we do not publish a figure for it, so nobody should be telling you one. A refill is ₹1,049 for 100 gm. How often you buy one, I honestly cannot say.
And the part that has nothing to do with price: a perfume adds a scent and does not remove one. If somebody has eaten in the car, or there is something damp in the boot, turning Safar up to its third speed gives you two smells instead of one. Deal with the thing itself first. No setting on any device is a substitute for opening the doors.
Frequently asked questions
Is adjustable intensity worth paying for in a car diffuser?
It is worth paying for if you will move it, and it is nearly the whole of what you are paying for. Safar is Rs 3,999 with 3 speed settings and a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off timer; a SOSA spray or hanging is Rs 449 to Rs 549. The oil is the same kind of oil and the fragrance is not better, so the honest test is whether you can name occasions when the level would have changed.
Can you adjust a hanging car perfume at all?
Yes. The 12ml hanging's stopper is its published strength control: loosen it for stronger, tighten it for subtler, and the published advice is to start tighter and open it gradually. It stays where you set it for the 4 to 6 weeks of continuous diffusion the bottle runs. That is adjustability for Rs 449 to Rs 549, which is why the real question is how often you want to change the setting.
How many speed settings does SOSA Safar have?
Three, published as light to intense, changed on the device itself. It also has a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off timer, which is a separate control for when the run ends rather than for how much there is. Both sit on a 2000 mAh Type-C battery giving up to 10 hours continuous or up to 30 hours intermittent diffusion per charge. SOSA publishes no coverage, scent-throw or projection figure for any of the settings.
Should I buy the highest setting I can get?
There is no reason to shop for a maximum here, and starting at the top is not a proxy for quality. The published advice on the hanging is to start tighter and open gradually, and the same instinct serves on a device: begin at the lowest useful setting with the cabin shut and somebody sitting in it, then move up only if a second person in the car would ask you to. Long journeys in particular tend to argue for less rather than more.
What if I want fragrance but never want to adjust it?
Then adjustable intensity should not be on your list, and the money is better unspent. A 12ml hanging at Rs 449 to Rs 549 is designed for exactly that: set the stopper once, leave it for 4 to 6 weeks, think about it again when you replace the bottle. A 10ml spray at 100 sprays suits somebody who would rather decide journey by journey. Neither is an inferior product here; for that reader they are the correct purchase.
Take the next step
Decide whether you want a dial. Then buy accordingly
Buy the 10ml spray at ₹449 to ₹549 if you like deciding journey by journey - 100 sprays, three months and more at one a day. Buy the 12ml hanging at the same price if you would rather set a stopper once and never think about it again - 4 to 6 weeks per bottle. Buy Safar at ₹3,999 only if you will genuinely use what it adds: three speeds and a 1/2/3-hour timer, cordless on a 2000 mAh battery, up to 10 hours continuous per charge, with three oils in the box and ₹1,049 refills after that. If the honest answer is that you would leave it on one setting, the cheaper product is not a compromise - it is the right purchase. Tell SOSA on WhatsApp how many separate journeys you make in a day, how long each one is, and who else drives the car.
Not sure whether this is a fragrance question or a cleaning one? Tell SOSA on WhatsApp whether the cabin smelled fine before and has changed, where the car is parked and for how long, and how long anybody is actually sitting in it. You will get one straight answer - including the times that answer is to dry the car out and buy nothing this week.
Car fragrance chosen from how the car is used, not from what it runs on
SOSA — alcohol-free car perfumes,nine scents, spray or hanging at the same price from ₹449; a 10ml spray is 100 sprays and a 12ml hanging runs 4 to 6 weeks
Message SOSA on WhatsApp at +91 96192 18531 with the result of the one-minute test - the two occasions last month when you would have changed the level, or the honest admission that there were none - and you will get a straight recommendation either way, including "none means the ₹449 hanging, and keep your money." A portion of every SOSA order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
About this guide: Written by Sonal Sahani, ISIPCA Versailles-trained founder and perfumer at SOSA Home & Body. Product details reflect the SOSA range; the reasoning about journey length, occupancy, parking and control applies to any brand.
Trademark notice: Tata and Tiago are trademarks of Tata Motors Limited. SOSA Home & Body is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to Tata Motors, and publishes no vehicle-specific fitment or compatibility claim for any car model. Where a model is named on this page it is the wording of the question being answered, and nothing about the product is derived from it.
SOSA Safar, verified from the live product record on 4 October 2026: a waterless, cordless, rechargeable cold-diffusion perfume diffuser that cold-diffuses pure fragrance oil with no water and no heating element. Aroma only - it scents the air and explicitly does not humidify it. Published specification: a 20ml bottle; a 2000 mAh rechargeable lithium battery charged over Type-C with the cable included; up to 10 hours continuous or up to 30 hours intermittent diffusion per charge; 3 speed settings from light to intense; a 1, 2 or 3-hour auto shut-off timer; approximately 6.9 cm, sized for a cup-holder or a handbag. The box holds the diffuser, the 20ml bottle, a Type-C cable and a user manual, and the variant selected determines the three fragrance oils supplied with it. ₹3,999, or ₹4,499 for the hotel-inspired sets. The published refill is the Waterless Nebuliser Refill at ₹1,049 per 100 gm or ₹1,849 per 300 gm. Published placement guidance is to keep it in a cup-holder or door pocket and not to leave it in direct sun on a closed dashboard. Country of origin China, imported and marketed by SOSA Home & Body, Pune - Safar is not made in India, unlike the SOSA car perfume range.Not published about Safar, and therefore not stated here: any charge duration; any coverage area, room size or scent-throw figure; any warranty term; any battery-cycle life; and any oil-consumption rate - the 10-hour and 30-hour figures describe the battery, not how long the oil lasts, so the price of a refill is published and the interval between refills is not.
The SOSA car perfume range, verified 1 October 2026: SOSA publishes nine car perfume scents. Eight are sold in two formats at the same price per scent - a 10ml spray and a 12ml hanging: Jasmine ₹449; Lavender and Sandalwood ₹479; Icy Mint ₹489; Lemon ₹499; Oud, Vetiver and Sea Breeze ₹509. Mysore Orange Blossom is spray only, ₹549 in 10ml. A 50ml spray is ₹1,499. The published quantities are: 10ml equals 100 sprays, stated as three months and above at one spray a day and fifty days at two a day; 50ml equals 500 sprays, stated as about a year and more; a spray combo is 200 sprays; and a 12ml hanging runs 4 to 6 weeks, that is 28 to 42 days, of continuous diffusion in a refillable glass bottle whose stopper loosens for stronger and tightens for subtler. Four combos are published - Jasmine & Lemon and Jasmine & Lavender at ₹899, Oud + Lemon and Sandalwood & Oud at ₹949 - each as a spray combo of 2 x 10ml or a hanging combo of 2 x 12ml at the same price, and each also in a 50ml x 2 variant at ₹2,999. The Car Perfume Sprays Discovery Set publishes eight three-scent combinations from ₹699 to ₹899 plus a pack of all nine at ₹2,999; those are the entire set range and none is composed to order. Hanging refills are 15ml at ₹399 to ₹449 across eight scents; there is no spray refill and Orange Blossom has no refill. Everything is alcohol-free, phthalate-free, paraben-free and IFRA-compliant, formulated for 45 degrees C heat and 85 per cent relative humidity, made in India. The published placement guidance is to hang from the rear-view mirror or a well-ventilated position and to keep it off leather, fabric and the dashboard. SOSA's published note on the hanging states that exact longevity depends on cabin temperature, stopper setting and how often the car is driven; that statement is about how long a bottle lasts and is not extended here into any claim about scent-throw or intensity. SOSA Safar is ₹3,999, or ₹4,499 for the hotel-inspired sets. What is not published, and is therefore not stated here: any cabin-volume, cabin-size, coverage, scent-throw, projection or evaporation figure, and consequently nothing about how one body of car compares with another - no claim that a larger cabin needs more fragrance, and no claim that it needs the same, because SOSA publishes neither and makes no body-type-specific product; any air-exchange or ventilation rate; any rate, timescale or physiological account of how perception changes across a journey; any seasonal performance claim beyond the stated formulation for heat and humidity; any difference between petrol, diesel and electric vehicles; any shelf life, expiry or concentration; and any bulk rate, minimum quantity, price break or lead time. Limits of this guide: fragrance adds a scent to a cabin. It does not remove, neutralise, mask, eliminate or purify an odour, it does not clean or treat the air, and a car that has developed a new smell is a question about the vehicle rather than about perfume. Where this guide discusses moisture, footwear, food or air-conditioning as the source of a cabin smell, that is general practical reasoning about cars and not a claim about any SOSA product. No health claim is made anywhere on this page, in either direction - nothing here states or implies that any fragrance causes or prevents a headache, nausea, motion sickness or any other effect, and nothing is said about safety in pregnancy or for children or the elderly, because SOSA publishes no information this page can rely on. No third-party brand is named and no competitor or category of competing product is characterised. No rating, review count, strength percentage or customer name from any product page is cited. Bulk orders are welcome and custom label or logo on product is available; that is the only branding option, and quantities are settled on WhatsApp. SOSA Home & Body is an Indian fragrance house based in Pune, Maharashtra, sending orders across India, with no shop, showroom, stockist, counter or warehouse in any other city. Prices and availability are subject to change - see the live product pages.
Imagine if Stars Hollow had its very own candle shop—filled with scents as inviting as Luke's coffee, as warm as a hug from Sookie, and as delightful as one of Lorelai's movie marathons. Welcome to Sosa home and body's very own newsletter!
Le choix d'une sélection entraîne l'actualisation de la page entière.