I work in healthcare and want to wear fragrance: which workplace rules and patient sensitivities should I check before choosing an attar?

I work in healthcare and want to wear fragrance: which workplace rules and patient sensitivities should I check before choosing an attar?

SOSA Founder Diaries · Safar ownership

This is the one page in the set where the honest answer is mostly a sequence rather than a bottle, and where wearing none may be the right outcome. You asked which rules to check. I cannot tell you a single one of them, and the reason is not modesty: SOSA publishes nothing about anybody's workplace, I have never read your employer's policy, and a page that invented one would be the most dangerous kind of confident.

By Sonal Sahani, founder and perfumer · 10 minute read · SOSA Home & Body, Pune

Published by SOSA: four attars, three sizes each, Rs 379 to Rs 1,199, a wear time of 6 to 8 hours on skin, a self-assigned strength score out of ten, and an occasion line per bottle. Not published by SOSA and not stated here: any workplace rule, any health or safety position in either direction, any projection figure, and any claim about how anybody near you will respond.

Answer in brief

  • What should I check before choosing an attar for healthcare work? Your own employer's written policy, first and before anything else on this page. SOSA publishes nothing about it, I do not know it, and it is the only input here that settles the question outright. If the answer there is no, then no bottle on this page is the right purchase and the honest outcome is to wear none.
  • Does SOSA publish anything about health, safety or who is nearby? No. SOSA publishes a formula description - alcohol-free and DPG-free, carried in sandalwood oil and jojoba - and makes no health claim of any kind, in either direction. Nothing on this page is medical advice and nothing here is a safety position.
  • And if the answer there is yes? Then the record is short and readable. Adaa publishes its occasion line as office hours, business lunches, daytime weddings, meetings and summer wear. Adaa's published strength figure is 8.5, the lightest end of the range. It is ₹379 for 3ml, and Adaa carries 4.9 from 98 published customer reviews.

The short answer

Check your own employer's written policy first, because it settles the question before any fragrance fact is relevant, and SOSA publishes nothing about it. If that answer is no, the right outcome is to wear none and buy nothing. If it is yes, what SOSA publishes is four attars at Rs 379 to Rs 1,199, a wear time of 6 to 8 hours on skin, self-assigned strength scores of 8.5 to 9.5, and an occasion line each; Adaa's names office hours and meetings, at Rs 379 for 3ml with 4.9 from 98 published customer reviews.

The answer this page is willing to end on: wear none. If your employer's rule says no, or if you read it and are unsure, then not buying anything is a complete and correct answer to your question, and I would rather print that than sell you a 3ml bottle you cannot use.

On this page

  1. A sequence, not a shortlist: the three steps in the order they bind
  2. What you asked to check, and who actually holds the answer
  3. The order this decision actually runs in
  4. If the rule allows it: what the four attars actually publish
  5. Questions people ask

I work in healthcare and I want to wear fragrance. Which workplace rules and patient sensitivities should I check before choosing an attar?

Your question has the order right, and the order is the whole answer, so let me take it in the sequence you wrote it rather than jumping to a bottle. First, the rules. Your own employer's policy is the only one that counts here, and it is the one thing on this page you have to check yourself. SOSA publishes nothing about anybody's workplace rule, I do not know yours, and a page that guessed at it would be worth less to you than this sentence. I will not tell you what a supervisor, a head of department or whoever sets the standards where you work has decided either, because the rule is theirs and I have never read it. I know that is not the paragraph you were hoping for, and I have watched enough pages invent a confident line about what hospitals do to know that the invented version is worse than nothing: it reads as authoritative, it is unsourced, and it would be contradicted by the actual document sitting in your own staff handbook. Go and read that document. It is the only one that governs you. Second, the half of your question about the people around you. SOSA publishes no health claim and no safety position of any kind, in either direction, and nothing on this page is medical advice or anything like it. I am not going to tell you that an attar is fine around anybody, and I am not going to tell you that it is not, because both of those are positions the published record does not contain and neither is mine to take. What SOSA does publish about the formula is narrow and checkable: All four are the same format: a concentrated oil attar with a built-in dab applicator, carried in sandalwood oil and jojoba, alcohol-free and DPG-free. Those are descriptions of what is in the bottle, not certifications of anything, and they are the full extent of it. Third, the outcome you did not ask for but which belongs on an honest page. Wear none. If the policy says no, or if you read it twice and still cannot tell, then buying nothing is a complete answer to your question and this page has done its job by saying so. Fourth, and only if the first three land on yes: here is what the record actually contains, because you should not have to dig for it. Only two of the four occasion lines name work at all. Adaa prints office hours, business lunches and meetings; Nawaab prints boardrooms. Ameeri's line is festive and Mastani's is evening, and neither of those two names a working day anywhere. No line in the range names a profession. Adaa publishes its occasion line as office hours, business lunches, daytime weddings, meetings and summer wear. Adaa publishes Calabrian bergamot, green cardamom and neroli in its opening, jasmine sambac, magnolia and ylang ylang in its heart, and white musk, vetiver and cedarwood in its base. Adaa's mood line reads light, elegant, composed, distinctive without being loud. Adaa's published strength figure is 8.5, the lightest end of the range. It is ₹379 for 3ml, ₹669 for 6ml and ₹1,149 for 12ml. Adaa carries 4.9 from 98 published customer reviews. Those are customer reviews Sonal collated over WhatsApp, which is why I quote the count beside the figure rather than the figure on its own. All four publish the same wear time, 6 to 8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin, and nothing beyond that figure is published. The published applicator is a built-in dab applicator, which is worth one sentence here because it is the only part of this that you hold: how much goes on is decided by your hand at the moment you apply it, and by nothing printed anywhere. SOSA publishes no projection figure and no sillage figure for any attar, so no page of mine will turn a strength figure into a distance. That cuts both ways, and this is the sentence the whole cluster wants me to break. A page that promised you one of these carries to the next person, or promised you that it does not, would be inventing the same missing figure twice. What exists is a self-assigned score out of ten and a wear time of 6 to 8 hours on skin. Sonal Sahani trained at ISIPCA, Versailles, she designs all four attars herself, and she signs off every small batch by hand in Pune. A portion of every SOSA order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.

In one line: Read your own employer's policy first, because it settles this before any fragrance fact matters, and wearing none is a correct answer. If it is a yes, Adaa Rs 379 for 3ml publishes office hours and meetings, with 4.9 from 98 reviews.
SOSA Adaa attar bottle, 3ml, with built-in dab applicator
SOSA Adaa attar, 3ml ₹379, 4.9 from 98 published customer reviews. Published occasion line: office hours, business lunches, daytime weddings, meetings, summer wear.
SOSA Adaa attar, 3ml₹379Shop now

A sequence, not a shortlist: the three steps in the order they bind

Every other page in this cluster starts with a bottle. This one cannot, because the first two steps of your own question are outside the published record and one of them can end the whole thing.

1

The rule - first, binding, and not on this page

Your own employer's policy is the only one that counts here, and it is the one thing on this page you have to check yourself. SOSA publishes nothing about anybody's workplace rule, I do not know yours, and a page that guessed at it would be worth less to you than this sentence. That is not a hedge, it is the finding. There is a document that governs you and it is not published by a perfume company in Pune. Read it before you read the rest of this page, and if it answers the question, stop there - the fragrance facts below are irrelevant to you until it does not. I will not tell you what a supervisor, a head of department or whoever sets the standards where you work has decided either, because the rule is theirs and I have never read it.

Your employer's written policy. Nothing on this page outranks it.

2

The health question - a position SOSA does not hold, in either direction

SOSA publishes no health claim and no safety position for any attar, and this page takes none. I will not write that a fragrance is fine around other people and I will not write that it is a problem, because neither sentence is published and neither is mine to write. Nothing here is medical advice. What is published is a formula description and nothing more: All four are the same format: a concentrated oil attar with a built-in dab applicator, carried in sandalwood oil and jojoba, alcohol-free and DPG-free. Read those as a statement of what is in the bottle rather than as a clearance for anything.

3

The outcome that is not a purchase - wearing none is a complete answer

Most pages in this trade cannot end on do not buy, and that is exactly why this one should be able to. If your employer's rule says no, buy nothing. If you read it and cannot tell, buy nothing and ask. If you would rather not think about it on a long shift, buy nothing. A 3ml bottle at ₹379 is not a large sum, and it is still the wrong purchase if it sits in a locker unopened. Your own employer's rule is the one that decides this, and it is the one thing here you have to check yourself.

Buy nothing is a real answer to this question, and sometimes the right one.

The confident paragraph about somebody else's fragrance rule is the most commonly written thing in this category and the least checkable. I do not know your employer's rule, nobody publishing a product page does, and the document that governs you is in your own staff handbook.

The rule is theirs, and it settles this before any fragrance fact does

SOSA Ameeri
SOSA Ameeri

If the rule allows it: what the four attars actually publish

Everything from here is conditional on the first step, and it is short. Adaa publishes Calabrian bergamot, green cardamom and neroli in its opening, jasmine sambac, magnolia and ylang ylang in its heart, and white musk, vetiver and cedarwood in its base. Adaa's mood line reads light, elegant, composed, distinctive without being loud. Adaa publishes its occasion line as office hours, business lunches, daytime weddings, meetings and summer wear. Adaa publishes its gender line as unisex, and the most genuinely gender-fluid attar in the range. Adaa's published strength figure is 8.5, the lightest end of the range. It is ₹379 for 3ml, ₹669 for 6ml and ₹1,149 for 12ml. Adaa carries 4.9 from 98 published customer reviews. All four publish the same wear time, 6 to 8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin, and nothing beyond that figure is published. The published applicator is a built-in dab applicator, which is worth one sentence here because it is the only part of this that you hold: how much goes on is decided by your hand at the moment you apply it, and by nothing printed anywhere. Adaa is on this page rather than the other three for one printed reason: its occasion line is the only one of the four that names office hours and meetings, which is the nearest published thing to a working daytime shift. That is a line read off a record, not a judgement about your job.

Adaa 3ml is ₹379 and the 12ml is ₹1,149 - but read your employer's policy before you read either figure.

View SOSA Adaa

What you asked to check, and who actually holds the answer

What you are deciding What is actually published
Workplace rules Held by your employer and nobody else. SOSA publishes nothing about any workplace, I have never read yours, and this page states no rule for any hospital, clinic, ward or practice. Check the document that governs you.
How people around me respond Not published, and not a position this page takes in either direction. SOSA makes no health claim and no safety claim for any attar, and nothing here is medical advice of any kind.
How far it travels No published figure, either way. SOSA states no projection and no sillage for any attar. The published quantities are a self-assigned score out of ten and a wear time of 6 to 8 hours on skin.
What is published, if the rule allows it Four attars at ₹379 to ₹1,199, three sizes each, a full pyramid, a mood line, a gender line, an occasion line and a strength score each. Adaa 3ml ₹379 is the one that names office hours and meetings.

The other three, in the same conditional spirit, so that nothing on this page looks like a recommendation dressed as information. Ameeri publishes Persian saffron, pink pepper and bergamot in its opening, Taif rose and Indian sandalwood in its heart, and soft oudh, amber and white musk in its base. Ameeri publishes its occasion line as Diwali, Eid, Karwa Chauth, family weddings and festive dinners. Ameeri's published strength figure is 9.0, the festive warm middle of the range. It is ₹385 for 3ml. Ameeri carries 4.9 from 104 published customer reviews. Mastani publishes litchi, bergamot and pink pepper in its opening, night-blooming jasmine and Damask rose in its heart, and Mysore sandalwood, oudh, Madagascar vanilla and tonka bean in its base. Mastani publishes its occasion line as anniversaries, date nights, evening receptions and signature wear. Mastani's published strength figure is 9.2, the sensual depth end of the range. It is ₹389 for 3ml. Mastani carries 4.9 from 112 published customer reviews. Nawaab publishes Kashmir saffron, black pepper and cardamom in its opening, white royal oud, Mysore sandalwood and aged tobacco leaf in its heart, and amber, leather and white musk in its base. Nawaab publishes its occasion line as weddings, boardrooms, important evenings and signature wear. Nawaab's published strength figure is 9.5, the deepest in the SOSA attar range. It is ₹399 for 3ml. Nawaab carries 4.9 from 86 published customer reviews. The strength figures are SOSA's own self-assigned scores out of ten, on a scale SOSA invented and nobody else uses: Adaa 8.5, Ameeri 9.0, Mastani 9.2 and Nawaab 9.5. Three of those four occasion lines are written for evenings and festivals rather than for a working day, which is a published difference and the reason only one of them appears above.

I have never read your employer's policy and SOSA has never published a word about it. That is the finding, not an apology for one, and it outranks every other sentence on this page.

The order this decision actually runs in

  1. Read your own employer's written fragrance policy. Nothing here outranks it.
  2. If it says no, or you cannot tell, buy nothing. That is a complete answer.
  3. If it allows it, read the occasion lines. Only Adaa's names office hours.
  4. Then pick a size: Adaa 3ml Rs 379 to try, 12ml Rs 1,149 for the value.
SOSA Safar waterless car perfume diffuser

The product this page is about

SOSA Safar waterless car perfume diffuser

Twenty millilitre bottle, 2000 mAh battery, Type-C charging with the cable in the box, three speed settings and a one, two or three hour auto-off timer. Up to ten hours continuous or thirty hours intermittent per charge, 6.9 cm across. Waterless cold diffusion of pure fragrance oil: no water, no heat. It scents the air and does not humidify it.

Safar ₹3,999 · hotel-inspired variant ₹4,499

View SOSA Safar

What SOSA will and will not tell you

The published figures on this page are the battery figures, the bottle size, the three speeds, the one, two and three hour timer and the prices. The oil-consumption rate is not published, so no refill interval and no running cost exist here. Everything about how a scent lands in your car is yours to test, because it depends on your nose and your driving.

From the founder

I am Sonal Sahani, and I compose every SOSA fragrance myself in Pune. I would rather tell you what we measure than guess at what we do not. If a number is not on the product page, you will not find it invented here.

Policy first. The bottle second, if at all

Your employer's rule decides this and SOSA publishes nothing about it. If it allows a fragrance, Adaa is the attar whose occasion line names office hours.

SOSA 15ml hanging car freshener refill

When the bottle runs dry

The 15ml hanging refills are ₹399 to ₹449 depending on the scent. Mysore Orange Blossom is a spray only and has no refill in that range.

See the 15ml refills

For the room, not the car

Safar is the car diffuser. The waterless nebuliser refills, ₹1,049 for 100 gm and ₹1,849 for 300 gm, are the pure undiluted oils that SOSA sells for Safar and for Vaayu, its larger waterless diffuser.

See the nebuliser refills

Questions people ask

Which workplace fragrance rules apply to healthcare staff?

I cannot tell you, and no honest product page can. SOSA publishes nothing about any employer, and I have never read the policy that governs you. The document in your own staff handbook is the only one that counts here, it settles the question before any fragrance fact is relevant, and it is the one thing on this page you have to check yourself.

Is an attar safe to wear around other people?

That is not a question SOSA answers and not one this page will answer in either direction. No health claim and no safety position is published for any attar, and nothing here is medical advice. What is published about the formula is that it is alcohol-free and DPG-free, carried in sandalwood oil and jojoba, which describes what is in the bottle and certifies nothing.

Why should I trust a hand-blended Pune attar?

Sonal Sahani, who founded SOSA and trained as a perfumer at ISIPCA, Versailles. She composes all four attars herself, and every small batch is hand-blended in Pune and signed off by her before it goes out. The attar pages publish that training outright, which is the honest answer to why a hand-blended Pune attar is worth reading about at all.

Is wearing no fragrance at work a reasonable answer?

Yes, and it is the answer this page is willing to end on. If your employer's rule says no, or if you read it and are not sure, buying nothing is complete and correct. A 3ml bottle is Rs 379 to Rs 399 depending on the attar, which is not a large sum and is still the wrong spend if the bottle cannot be used.

If it is allowed, which attar does the record point to for a daytime shift?

Adaa, at Rs 379 for 3ml, on one printed ground: its occasion line reads office hours, business lunches, daytime weddings, meetings and summer wear, and it is the only one of the four that names daytime working hours. Its self-assigned strength figure is 8.5, the lightest of the four, and it carries 4.9 from 98 published customer reviews.

Start with one bottle

Adaa ₹379 for 3ml, 4.9 from 98 published customer reviews - after you have read the policy that governs you, and not before. A portion of every SOSA order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.

More on living with Safar

  • Why no page can state your employer's rule
  • What SOSA publishes about the formula, exactly
  • The two occasion lines that name work
  • Buy nothing, as a real answer
  • The published wear time, and what it does not say
  • Choosing 3ml, 6ml or 12ml by arithmetic

Sources and what is published

SOSA Safar ₹3,999, hotel-inspired variant ₹4,499. Twenty millilitre bottle. 2000 mAh battery. Type-C charging, cable included. Up to ten hours continuous, thirty hours intermittent per charge. Three speed settings. One, two or three hour auto-off timer. 6.9 cm. Waterless cordless cold diffusion of pure fragrance oil, no water and no heat. It scents the air and does not humidify. Made in China, imported and marketed by SOSA Home & Body, Pune. In the box: the diffuser, the 20ml bottle, a Type-C cable, a user manual and the three fragrance oils set by the variant.

The nine car scents, each a 10ml spray or a 12ml hanging at the same price: Jasmine ₹449, Lavender and Sandalwood ₹479, Sandalwood ₹479, Icy Mint ₹489, Lemon ₹499, Oud ₹509, Vetiver ₹509, Sea Breeze ₹509, Mysore Orange Blossom ₹549 as a spray only. Every scent as a 50ml spray ₹1,499. Spray combos ₹899 to ₹949, two 50ml ₹2,999. Discovery sets of three sprays ₹699 to ₹899, pack of nine ₹2,999. Fifteen millilitre hanging refills ₹399 to ₹449, eight scents, none for Orange Blossom. Waterless nebuliser refills ₹1,049 for 100 gm and ₹1,849 for 300 gm.

The published quantities: a 10ml spray gives 100 sprays, stated as three months and above at one spray a day and fifty days at two a day. A 50ml spray gives 500 sprays, stated as about a year and more. A spray combo gives 200 sprays. A 12ml hanging gives 4 to 6 weeks, that is 28 to 42 days, of continuous diffusion in a refillable glass bottle whose stopper loosens for stronger and tightens for subtler. The formulation range published is 45 degrees C and 85 per cent relative humidity.

Not published, and therefore not stated anywhere above: any charge duration; any oil-consumption rate, and so no refill interval and no running cost; any coverage area, cabin volume or scent-throw figure; any warranty term or battery-cycle life; any per-speed duration; any seasonal performance claim; any strength ranking of the nine scents; any health or wellbeing effect in either direction; any prediction of what a person will prefer; any rate or account of how perception changes across a journey; any testimonial, rating or review count. The ten and thirty hour figures describe the 2000 mAh battery per charge, not how long the oil lasts. The refill price is published and the interval is not.

Prices and specifications read live from the SOSA product records on 7 October 2026. Enquiries: WhatsApp +91 96192 18531.

Torna al blog