I want to know whether a particular SOSA attar contains ethanol, DEP or ingredients I need to avoid - what product-specific information can be confirmed?

I want to know whether a particular SOSA attar contains ethanol, DEP or ingredients I need to avoid - what product-specific information can be confirmed?

Four attars from ₹379 · buy the 3ml before you buy a size3ml from ₹379  |  6ml from ₹669  |  12ml from ₹1,149 · 6-8 hours on skinHand-blended in Pune · a portion funds girl-child education
How SOSA works
Two rungs, honestly: a spray you aim when you choose, or a cordless diffuser that decides for you
A note list is not a smell
Every description here is an intention written in words. It cannot tell you how an oil will sit on your own skin.
Alcohol-free by formulation
A jojoba carrier with no DPG and no ethanol. IFRA-compliant.
One dab, and do not rub it in
A pulse point and a dab applicator. Oil opens with warmth, so rubbing crushes the top of it.
Composed by a trained perfumer
Sonal Sahani, ISIPCA Versailles-trained, composes the whole range.
A portion funds girl-child education
Part of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
We will tell you not to buy
There are four attars. Where your answer is not one of them, these guides say so and sell nothing.
A note list is not a smell
Every description here is an intention written in words. It cannot tell you how an oil will sit on your own skin.
Alcohol-free by formulation
A jojoba carrier with no DPG and no ethanol. IFRA-compliant.
One dab, and do not rub it in
A pulse point and a dab applicator. Oil opens with warmth, so rubbing crushes the top of it.
Composed by a trained perfumer
Sonal Sahani, ISIPCA Versailles-trained, composes the whole range.
A portion funds girl-child education
Part of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali.
We will tell you not to buy
There are four attars. Where your answer is not one of them, these guides say so and sell nothing.
✓ Alcohol-free and IFRA-compliant · a jojoba carrier, no DPG and no ethanol ✓ 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin · the only wear figure SOSA publishes ✓ A note list is not a smell · buy the 3ml before you buy a size ✓ Other brands named are the property of their respective owners · SOSA is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or associated with any other fragrance company named on this page

Founder Diaries · Car Fragrance
By Sonal Sahani · ISIPCA Versailles 11 min read Updated October 2026
I would rather give you a short answer with a clear edge to it than a long one that sounds complete. Four things about every SOSA attar are published and I will stand behind them in writing: they are alcohol-free, they are IFRA-compliant, the carrier is DPG-free, and the base is jojoba. The composition lists are published too, and you can read them on each product page. Your question also asks about DEP, and that is where this page stops: I do not have a confirmed phthalate or DEP figure for the attar line, so I am not going to state one in either direction. An ingredient question deserves an answer from the people who blend the thing, in writing, before you pay - not an article's best guess.
Quick answers — read this first
What is confirmed about the ingredients in a SOSA attar? Four things are published and quotable: the attars are alcohol-free, they are IFRA-compliant, the carrier is DPG-free and the base is jojoba. The composition list for each of the four is published on its product page, along with the sizes, the prices and a wear figure of 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin. Those are the statements worth relying on.

Do SOSA attars contain DEP or phthalates? That is not something this page will answer, because it is not confirmed. SOSA publishes alcohol-free, IFRA-compliant, a DPG-free carrier and a jojoba base, and a DPG-free claim is not a DEP claim - DPG is dipropylene glycol and DEP is diethyl phthalate, two different materials whose abbreviations get swapped constantly. If you need an answer about phthalates or DEP specifically, ask the brand in writing before you buy, and treat any article that answers it confidently with suspicion.

Is there alcohol in a SOSA attar? No. Alcohol-free is published for all four compositions, which means there is no ethanol used as a solvent or a carrier - the sense in which the word is normally meant on a fragrance page. The carrier is a jojoba base instead, and that is a large part of why an attar sits closer to the skin and develops more slowly than an alcohol spray does.
The short answer
Short answer: Published and quotable: alcohol-free, IFRA-compliant, DPG-free carrier, jojoba base, and the composition list for each of the four. Not confirmed and therefore not stated here: phthalate or DEP content for the attar line, and any percentage of anything. Ask the brand in writing before you buy.
The pick: Ask first, then buy small. Send the question to the brand directly and get the answer in writing, because that is the only place an ingredient answer should come from. Once you have it, Adaa at 3ml ₹379 is the smallest commitment in the range - the same liquid as the larger bottles, and the right size for a first bottle of anything.
Honest note: an attar is bought unsmelled, so a list of notes is all you have. A note list describes an intention, not a smell, and nothing written here is a substitute for wearing it.
Four attars - lightest opening to deepest baseAdaa · Mastani · Ameeri · Nawaab3ml from ₹379  |  6ml from ₹669  |  12ml from ₹1,149Dab on pulse points - oil wants warmth, not rubbing6-8 hours on skin · alcohol-free · DPG-free carrier
There are four SOSA attars and they run from a bergamot-and-cardamom opening at the lightest end to white royal oud at the deepest. Adaa is the freshest, Mastani the most floral, Ameeri the warmest, Nawaab the deepest. All four are alcohol-free on a jojoba carrier with no DPG, come with a dab applicator, and wear 6-8 hours on skin - longer on warm or oily skin. Sizes are 3ml, 6ml and 12ml, from Rs 379. None of that tells you whether you will like the smell, which is why the smallest size exists.
Straight answer
What can actually be confirmed about what is in a SOSA attar?
Four formulation facts, the composition lists, the sizes and the wear figure. Not a phthalate figure, and not a percentage of anything.

What is published, and what each of those four statements means. Alcohol-free is the direct answer to the first half of your question: there is no ethanol in these as a solvent or a carrier, which is the sense in which the word alcohol is usually meant on a perfume page. IFRA-compliant means the formula is built within the usage standards the International Fragrance Association sets for fragrance materials; it is a statement about how a formula is constructed and not a description of how it smells. DPG-free carrier refers to dipropylene glycol, a very common diluent in perfumery, and it says that one is not used here. Jojoba base is what is used instead - the oil the composition sits in, which is also why an attar behaves the way it does on skin: close, slow, and without the lift an alcohol spray has in its first minute.

Now the part your question is really about, and the distinction nearly everybody misses. DPG-free is not the same claim as DEP-free. DPG is dipropylene glycol. DEP is diethyl phthalate, a different material, also used as a solvent in perfumery, and it is a phthalate while DPG is not. The two abbreviations look alike, they turn up in the same sentences and they get treated as synonyms constantly in product descriptions and in articles about product descriptions. They are not synonyms. So if what you need to know is whether a formula contains DEP, a DPG-free claim does not answer it, from us or from anybody.

And here is what I will not do. I do not have a confirmed phthalate or DEP figure for the attar line specifically, so this page states nothing about it in either direction. Not "phthalate-free", which would be a claim I cannot support. Not a hedge that implies it, either, because a hedge that leans is worse than a refusal. If you have read another article that gave you a confident answer about the phthalate content of a particular brand's attars, ask yourself where its author got it, because the answer is almost never "from the brand, in writing". I would rather be the page that says it does not know than the page that was useful and wrong.

No percentages, from us or from anybody serious. You will see numbers quoted in this category - oil concentrations, percentages of a named material, strengths expressed as a figure. We do not publish any of those, and where you find them elsewhere they are usually reconstructions rather than disclosures. A composition list is a list of materials in roughly the order you meet them. It carries no quantities at all, and treating it as an ingredient declaration is the commonest misreading in the whole category.

What the composition lists do tell you. They name the materials each composition is built around, and that is genuinely useful. Adaa is bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac and white musk. Mastani is night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose and oudh. Ameeri is Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, Persian saffron and soft oudh. Nawaab is white royal oud, sandalwood, saffron, black pepper, cardamom, aged tobacco leaf, amber, leather and white musk. If the material you have decided to avoid is on one of those lists, that composition is out and you have your answer in a second - which is what a published list is for.

What the lists do not tell you, and this page is not going to fill the gap. They carry no quantities, no concentrations and no statement of completeness. They are also not origin or grade claims, and I am deliberately not going to restate them as though they were. The names are what appears on the product pages; if you need to know where a material came from, or what grade of it was used, that is a question for the brand and it should be answered by the brand rather than inferred by an article - including this one. How to evaluate a sourcing claim from anybody, us included is a separate and worthwhile exercise.

So ask. And here is exactly what to ask. Five questions, in writing, before you pay for anything. One: is there any ethanol or alcohol of any kind in this formula. Two: what is the carrier, in full. Three: does the formula contain phthalates, and DEP in particular. Four: is there a material-by-material declaration available for this composition. Five: which composition and which batch does the answer apply to, because an answer about one of the four is not automatically an answer about the others. Send those to us and you should get a straight reply or a straight admission that something is not known - and either of those is more use to you than a confident paragraph from a blog.

Why the brand and not an article. Three reasons, all of them practical. A formula can change, and an article published last year does not change with it. An article's author is not the person who blended the thing and carries no responsibility for what you buy on the strength of it. And a written answer from a brand is something you hold: you can quote it back, and a company that gives you one has staked something on it. That last point is the real test of a house, incidentally - not whether the answer is the one you wanted, but whether you get an answer at all. The full list of questions worth asking before an unsmelled purchase goes further than formulation.

The directions are a product-page matter too. How to apply it, where, how much, and anything the brand says about storage or about skin are printed where the product is sold, and that is where you should read them rather than from an article that might be describing a different version of the product. The five things to confirm on a live product page are listed here, and the directions are one of them.

And once you have your answer. Buy the smallest size. A 3ml is ₹379 to ₹399 depending on the composition, holds exactly the same liquid as a 6ml or a 12ml, and has the same built-in dab applicator. All four are hand-blended in small batches in Pune and all four are 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin - the only wear figure we publish. A formulation answer tells you whether you can wear it. It does not tell you whether you will like it, and a note list is not a smell. Those are two different questions and the second one needs a week on your own skin.
Confirmed: alcohol-free, IFRA-compliant, DPG-free carrier, jojoba base, and the four composition lists. Not confirmed and not stated here: phthalate or DEP content, and any percentage. DPG-free is not the same claim as DEP-free. Ask in writing before you buy.
Start at 3ml. A 3ml costs ₹379 to ₹399 depending on the composition, holds the same liquid as the larger sizes, and is the only honest size for a fragrance you have never worn. Wear it for a week before you buy a size. Nothing on this page can tell you how it will smell on your skin, which is exactly why the smallest bottle exists.
3ml from ₹379

What is confirmed, what is not, and what to do about the gap

Three things, and the middle one is the reason this page exists. A page that tells you what it does not know is doing more for you than one that fills the space.

1
Published
Four formulation statements and four composition lists
Alcohol-free, IFRA-compliant, DPG-free carrier, jojoba base. Those four apply to all four compositions and they are the things worth quoting. Add the composition lists, the three sizes, the prices and the published wear figure of 6-8 hours on skin and you have the complete set of what is on the record. Anything beyond that set which you find in an article rather than on a product page is worth checking before you rely on it.
Tip: Quote these; check anything else with the brand directly.
2
Not published
No phthalate or DEP figure, and no percentage of anything
A phthalate or DEP status for the attar line is not confirmed, so no honest page states one - including a reassuring one. Concentration percentages are not published either, by us or by most of this category, and figures of that kind found elsewhere are usually reconstructions. A composition list carries materials and rough order and nothing else: no quantities, no grades, no declaration of completeness.
Tip: Treat any confident percentage in this category as unsourced until shown otherwise.
3
Ask
Send the question to the brand, in writing, before you pay
Ask whether there is ethanol of any kind; what the carrier is in full; whether the formula contains phthalates and DEP in particular; whether a material-by-material declaration exists; and which composition and batch the answer applies to. Five questions. A house that answers them, or that says plainly which part it cannot answer, has told you something important about itself. A formula can also be changed after an article is written, which is the other reason to ask rather than to read.
Tip: A written answer you can quote back is worth more than any article.
The SOSA principle
DPG-free and DEP-free are two different claims about two different materials. The abbreviations look alike and get swapped constantly, and only one of them is published here.
If you need the second answer, the first one does not give it to you.

The four composition lists, as published

Adaa is bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac and white musk - 3ml ₹379; 6ml ₹669; 12ml ₹1,149. Mastani is night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose and oudh - 3ml ₹389; 6ml ₹685; 12ml ₹1,179. Ameeri is Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, Persian saffron and soft oudh - 3ml ₹385; 6ml ₹679; 12ml ₹1,165. Nawaab is white royal oud, sandalwood, saffron, black pepper, cardamom, aged tobacco leaf, amber, leather and white musk - 3ml ₹399; 6ml ₹699; 12ml ₹1,199.

The SOSA attar range
Confirmed, not confirmed, and where to get it
Option When it is the right call
Alcohol and ethanol Confirmed · alcohol-free across all four compositions
Where to read it: the product page for each composition, and it is the same answer for all three sizes
Carrier and base Confirmed · DPG-free carrier, jojoba base
Where to read it: the product page - and note that this is not a statement about DEP, which is a different material
Phthalates and DEP Not confirmed · no figure stated here in either direction
Where to read it: nowhere yet - ask us in writing and get the answer before you pay
Percentages and grades Not published · no concentration figures, no grade claims
Where to read it: nowhere - a composition list carries materials and rough order, and nothing more

Those four lists are the whole range - we make no fifth composition, no standalone musk, no pure sandalwood, no amber attar, no tuberose, no vetiver or khus and no aquatic. Every one of the four is alcohol-free, IFRA-compliant, built on a DPG-free carrier with a jojoba base and a built-in dab applicator, hand-blended in small batches in Pune, and 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin. The same liquid fills all three sizes, so size is a quantity decision rather than a formulation one.

Not sure which of the four is yours?
Tell us the three fragrances you wear most and the notes you cannot stand. If none of our four fits what you describe, we will say so rather than sell you a bottle you will not wear.
Ask first
I would rather be the page that says it does not know than the page that was useful and wrong. An ingredient question belongs to the people who blended the thing.
— Sonal Sahani, SOSA

The SOSA attar range

Every SOSA attar is alcohol-free and IFRA-compliant on a jojoba carrier with no DPG, hand-blended in small batches in Pune. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali. There are four, and the honest way to read them is by depth - how much the base note is doing.

The SOSA attar range
Four attars, lightest to deepest - 3ml from ₹379
Attar Built on What it is, honestly 3ml
Adaa Bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac, white musk The lightest of the four and the easiest first attar. Jasmine sambac is mogra, so this is also the mogra answer ₹379
Ameeri Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, Persian saffron, soft oudh The warm one. Rose and sandalwood doing most of the work, with the oudh kept soft ₹385
Mastani Night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose, oudh The most floral. A different jasmine and a different rose from Adaa and Ameeri ₹389
Nawaab White royal oud, sandalwood, saffron, tobacco leaf, amber, leather The deepest in the range. Not a first attar unless you already know you like oud ₹399
The trio Ameeri, Nawaab and Mastani together Three of the four at once. The honest answer when you cannot choose and will not guess ₹1,055

Four honest notes. A note list is not a smell. Every composition above is described in the words we would use ourselves, and those words still cannot tell you how it will sit on your skin - which is the whole reason the 3ml exists. On the sizes: 3ml, 6ml and 12ml are the same liquid, and the only reason to buy the larger ones is that you already know. If you have not worn it, buy the smallest and let it earn the upgrade. On wear: all four are 6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin, and that is the only figure we publish. We do not publish a drop count, a per-application cost, or a comparison with how long anybody else's fragrance lasts - including sprays. On what we do not make: there is no standalone musk, sandalwood, amber, tuberose, vetiver, khus, aquatic or tobacco attar in this range. Four compositions is the whole range, and where your answer is not one of them, this page will say so rather than talk you into the nearest thing.

SS
ISIPCA
Versailles
A note from Sonal

Attars are the part of this business where the marketing is worst, and I would like ours to be the boring, accurate version. Most of the category sells a bottle on adjectives - royal, exotic, hypnotic, long-lasting - and on numbers nobody has measured. You cannot smell any of it before you pay, so the words are doing all the work, and almost nobody writes them honestly.

So here is what I will and will not tell you. I will tell you what is in each of the four, in the order you meet it, and that they wear 6-8 hours on my skin. I will not tell you that one of them smells expensive, or that it will turn heads, or that it lasts twelve hours, because I cannot know the first two about you and have not measured the third. The honest sequence is: read the notes, buy the 3ml, wear it for a week, and only then buy a size. If none of our four matches what you have described to yourself, I would rather say so than sell you the nearest one.

The other thing worth knowing is how little you need. An attar is concentrated oil, and the commonest mistake is wearing it like a spray - a long press at the neck and another at the wrists. One dab at a pulse point is the dose. Two if you want it read across a dinner table. Do not rub it in; oil opens with warmth, and rubbing crushes the top of it. That is the entire dial, and most people never need the top of it. A portion of every order supports girl-child education.

Frequently asked questions

Are SOSA attars alcohol-free?
Yes. Alcohol-free is published for all four compositions and for all three sizes of each, which means no ethanol as a solvent or a carrier. The carrier is a jojoba base, and that difference in format is why an attar sits closer to the skin and opens more slowly than an alcohol spray.
Does a DPG-free carrier mean the attar is phthalate-free?
No, and this is the most useful thing on the page. DPG is dipropylene glycol. DEP is diethyl phthalate. They are different materials, the abbreviations are routinely confused, and a DPG-free claim says nothing at all about phthalate content. If phthalates are what you need to know about, the DPG-free statement does not answer your question.
Why will this page not just tell me whether there are phthalates in it?
Because it is not confirmed, and a confident answer either way would be invented. That is worth more to you than a reassurance you cannot check - if a page is willing to guess about a formulation, you have no way of knowing what else on it was guessed. Ask us in writing, get the answer from the people who blend it, and keep the reply.
What exactly should I ask before I order?
Five things. Whether there is ethanol or alcohol of any kind in the formula. What the carrier is, in full. Whether the formula contains phthalates, and DEP specifically. Whether a material-by-material declaration is available for that composition. And which of the four compositions and which batch the answer applies to, since an answer about one is not automatically an answer about the others.
If I need to avoid a particular material, can the composition list tell me?
It can tell you when the answer is no. If the material you are avoiding is named on a list, that composition is ruled out immediately and you have saved yourself a purchase. What a list cannot do is prove absence, because it carries materials and rough order rather than a declaration of everything in the formula. For an absence you need an answer from the brand, in writing, before you pay.
A fragrance you chose on purpose, not by accident
SOSA — alcohol-free attars, and an honest account of what a note list cannot tell you
Ask the formulation question in writing first. Then start small - 3ml from ₹379, the same liquid as every other size.
The attar trio → Begin at 3ml
Continue the read
More from SOSA
More from this guide
Editorial standards & sources
About this guide:
  • Written by Sonal Sahani, ISIPCA Versailles-trained founder and perfumer at SOSA Home & Body. Product recommendations reflect the SOSA range; the fragrance-family guidance applies to any brand. SOSA does not sort fragrance by the gender of the wearer.


What this guide does not claim.
  • An attar is a fragrance and nothing else.
A note list is not a smell
  • - it names what a composition is built from and the order you meet it in, which is a description of an intention rather than a measurement, and it is
not a substitute for wearing it
  • . Nothing here should be read as advice about health, allergies or anyone's wellbeing, and no fragrance on this page is claimed to affect anybody's mood, comfort, confidence or state of mind. Where a reader describes a preference none of our four compositions matches, these guides say so and sell nothing.


SOSA attars, specified:
  • four compositions -
Adaa
  • (bergamot, green cardamom, jasmine sambac, white musk),
Ameeri
  • (Taif rose, Indian sandalwood, Persian saffron, soft oudh),
Mastani
  • (night-blooming jasmine, Damask rose, oudh) and
Nawaab
  • (white royal oud, sandalwood, saffron, black pepper, cardamom, aged tobacco leaf, amber, leather, white musk). All four are
alcohol-free and IFRA-compliant on a jojoba carrier with no DPG
  • , supplied with a built-in dab applicator, and hand-blended in small batches in Pune. Sizes are
3ml, 6ml and 12ml
  • : Adaa ₹379 / ₹669 / ₹1,149, Ameeri ₹385 / ₹679 / ₹1,165, Mastani ₹389 / ₹685 / ₹1,179, Nawaab ₹399 / ₹699 / ₹1,199. The three-attar trio (Ameeri, Nawaab, Mastani) is ₹1,055 / ₹1,859 / ₹3,189. The same liquid fills all three sizes.


On wear.
  • SOSA publishes one figure:
6-8 hours on skin, longer on warm or oily skin
  • . SOSA does not publish a drop count, a cost per application, a projection rating, or any comparison with how long another format or another company's fragrance lasts. Where a customer review reports a different number, that is one person's experience of their own skin and not a measurement SOSA stands behind.


On what is in the bottle.
  • The composition lists above name the materials a fragrance is built from. They are not a statement of grade, percentage or geographic origin, and this guide makes no claim about either. Where origin or grade matters to you, ask before you buy - that is a fair question and the answer belongs to the product page rather than to an article.


On other companies.
  • Where another fragrance brand is named in these guides it is because a reader named it, and the page answers what they asked. Nothing here states what any other company's product contains, how long it lasts, what it costs or how it performs.
Other brands named are the property of their respective owners · SOSA is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or associated with any other fragrance company named on this page
  • , and no other company has reviewed or approved this content. If a product you already own suits you, keep it - several pages in this guide say exactly that.


On availability.
  • SOSA is an online fragrance house and ships across India; it holds no retail counters, and no delivery window is quoted here. A portion of every order supports girl-child education through Nanhi Kali. Prices and availability change - see the live product pages.
Torna al blog